‘Artistic Lunacy’

I’m walking on a sunny day

Delighted to have sunlight on my face,

Pleased to have my say

By writing. On starry nights I glance into space

While the two worlds mix with each other.

A sudden feeling of discomfort, inexplicable.

I’ve got thoughts to gather

But they all split, it’s undeniable

Something’s been watching me

For a long, long time

From behind that cherry tree.

Have I committed some crime

I’ve written about?

I can see the light

Which is coming out

From my inside…

What a mad suicide!

Normal for lunatic poets

Who put their sorrow aside

By drowning it in the muse’s sockets.

 

Poetry Potluck
About Magdalena

I'm a positive thinker, a dreamer, a poet, a dancer, a writer. I want to empower people and inspire them to follow their dreams and create their lives exactly the way they wish them to be :)

Posted on December 13, 2010, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I can see the light

    Which is coming out

    From my inside…

    What a mad suicide!..

    powerful imagery, perfect poetry.
    A+

  2. Powerful stuff. Lots of excellent internal and end-line rhyme. Loved the flow, but most of all, being a manic depressive poet myself, love that edgy feeling, the “what if I DID?” quality. Poetry is freedom – yes – and it can also be part of one’s salvation.

    Great work!

    Amy Barlow Liberatore
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2010/12/13/the-precious-box-jingle-poetry-potluck/

    • Thanks a lot, Amy 🙂 I’ve found biographies of great poets, like Sylvia Plath or Anne Sexton very inspiring in writing this one… And of course my own twisted poetic thoughts… Explosive mixture ;D

  3. Really enjoyed your use of words. The last lines are amazing!!

  1. Pingback: 'Artistic Lunacy' « The Chamber of Stories | World of juggling News

Leave a Reply

