‘Muses come instead of sleep’

Fairy โ€“ "Take the Fair Face of Woman"...

Yesterday I was hoping for some sleep

But the muse came and took the lead.

She took me to the land of ambrosia,

Of milk and honey, sweet scents.

She filled my mind with reveries

Instead of thoughts of the day.

She took my hand with gentle grasp

And gave me a pen decorated with wild feathers.

Then one plume fell onto the ground,

The flower of fern grew on the floor

And despite the calmness of the weather

I couldn’t fall asleep any more.

About Magdalena

I'm a positive thinker, a dreamer, a poet, a dancer, a writer. I want to empower people and inspire them to follow their dreams and create their lives exactly the way they wish them to be :)

Posted on June 29, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. Beautifully written! love it

  2. This is so gorgeous and I can relate I have pen and paper by my bedside for when my muse decides to keep me awake!

  3. “She took me to the land of ambrosia,
    Of milk and honey, sweet scents.
    She filled my mind with reveries”

    Without a great thought, there will not wonderful writing.

  4. I enjoyed your poem, very much, beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. awe the call of the muse…
    dont we all know it!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Such a beautifully written poem. Great job.

  7. I keep lists on my desk. Many things inspire me, and I am constantly jotting them down. I enjoyed this one!

  8. glad that the muses find you.
    well done .
    Happy Rally.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Nice imaginative poem.! The muse been so generous , took you into the garden of honey and scents. I hope you gave a fresh breath ): Great!

  10. That muse! She certainly works on her own time table, doesn’t she. I can relate.

  11. i love lists – so i was already half in love when i started reading…

  12. What an imagination!..great muse that it was ๐Ÿ™‚

    Alcina

  13. Insomnia and I share a love/hate relationship–much for the same reasons you state here ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Really well put! Love the imagery!

  15. Kalahari blues

    My inclination is more towards realism but the selection of words and images of the imaginative was pleasing thank you very much!

  16. i love the muses and they always seem to take your sleep away..amazing write.

  17. I really like this as this has happened to me! I would wake up something like 4am in the morning sometimes when I have the muse and desire to write.

  18. Beautifully written – lovely imagery and I love the picture!

  19. Great write – if only I had a muse that would take away my thoughts of the day!

  20. today is your birthday,
    wow.
    what a cool date to be born,

    Happy Birthday, you rock.

    cheers

  21. Your choice of words are so beautiful–I so enjoyed this, Magda.

    Also, came by to say Happy Birthday! I hope you have a lovely day…

  22. A lovely evocation of the touch of the Muse.
    ‘Flower of the fern’ is a nice curiousity, ferns being without flowers.
    Many happy returns for you birthday.
    Harry

  23. Cassiopeia Rises

    Lovely and enchanted poem. I felt the Fae around your words and my soul. Excellent…

    Melanie

  24. If we keep our mind fresh and innocent, these intuitions and muses will fill our mind with รญnspiring images! Nice poem:)

  25. Thanks, guys ๐Ÿ˜€

  26. Beautiful! Magda, your imagery and your muse both entrance the reader’s mind. Loved it.

  27. Gotta smile at this one, Magdalena. I will guess I’m far from the only one reading this who has had experienced something similar, and you make a beautiful poem out of the poet’s restless night. I love the fern growing from the plume dropped on the floor!

  28. When the muse calls, even sleep is shunted aside! I love the magical quality of your poem.

  29. Awful when you can’t sleep, but, it looks as if your muse was wide awake anyway!
    Lovely

  30. Beautiful Magdalena… We all long for our muse visits…:-)

  31. You are surely a writer/poet, You can’t let it slip away, right?, very Beautiful, thank you, much appreciated, WS

  32. When the time comes, it’s easier to submit. smiles..

  33. I adore this poem. ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. Great poem! You capture so deftly the feeling of the Muse at work.

Leave a Reply

