‘I’ve had my lesson’

Faking it

I’ve been living for today

I’ve been living for tomorrow

You promised that if I make you stay

You won’t let me down in sorrow

 

I’ve been scheming all day long

I’ve even wished on a star

You’ve read all the signs wrong

And without a glance started the car

 

Now I’m living for today

I’m not living for tomorrow

With guys’ fake promises play

And cold hearts never borrow

About Magdalena

I'm a positive thinker, a dreamer, a poet, a dancer, a writer. I want to empower people and inspire them to follow their dreams and create their lives exactly the way they wish them to be :)

Posted on September 7, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Cold hearts never borrow
    Wow! Great line.

  2. This is excellent. Great write.

    Melaniw

  3. love your sentiments, well said.

    love for now.
    smile!

  4. How many times does this drama play out. Nice poem.

  5. Having a cold heart is never good and warm hearts seem to get hurt often this is a great poem

    Ann Leflore http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/08/the-crimson-witch/

  6. i think you mean drown in the last mine of the first stanza mag? my entry.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/lines/

  7. There is only today. Tomorrow is the illusion. 😉

  8. With guys fake promises play.

    Oh so true and so well said.

  9. Yummy poem … filled wish je ne sais quoi … energy, fun, a sense of free spiritedness.

  10. Hmm..very true and painful..
    Nice work
    Alcina

  11. 😥 here’s a hug for you (>”)>

  12. That’s it, right? We can’t make anyone stay. And they can’t promise it won’t end. Awesome work!

  13. I love it! Very nicely written!

  14. Stellar imagery in your words here. I felt at home in the lines. Lovely

  15. Passionate and inspiring:)

  16. Beautiful – loved the resolution in the last two lines.

  17. well penned.

    Hohoho,

    What charming poetry you have posted here.

    Invite you to share 1 to 3 poems with us, anything could fit the theme of object,

    Cheers.
    Hope to see you in.

    Happy Writing..
    xoxox

  18. Cold hearts never borrow – good line, cold heartedness like the spread of a disease – never borrow from a cold heart and be in its debt yet in withdrawal become a cold heart aching to forget? … difficult choices

Leave a Reply

