‘Hospital wards’

Hospital

In hospital wards

Between white walls

Among silent moanings

And loud cries

In the silence

That caresses those lost

In hope

Which kisses the retrieved

So many souls wander

Searching

Asking

Floating in the tense air

I’m walking too

My ghostly steps sound like knocking

On heaven’s door

But some fall…

About Magdalena

I'm a positive thinker, a dreamer, a poet, a dancer, a writer. I want to empower people and inspire them to follow their dreams and create their lives exactly the way they wish them to be :)

Posted on December 27, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. Wow. Perfect. I must read it again…

  2. I agree with that other Wow!!! Well done πŸ™‚ Happy New Year, Terri

  3. Sharp and penetrating words.

    So many souls wander

    Searching

    Asking

    Floating in the tense air

    I’m walking too

    My ghostly steps sound like knocking

    On heaven’s door

    But some fall…

  4. Cool.
    “floating in the tense air” – great line!

  5. This is amazing. i can feel what its like to be in a hospital

  6. It is atmospheric – but also it holds to the values of Imagist Poetry.
    Beautiful.

  7. Love the atmosphere that is felt

  8. Creates vivid imagery in the mind and makes one wonder. In the past when I was alone in a hospital at night, the images does come to mind. Well-described!

  9. Great poem πŸ˜‰

  10. My dad was just in the hospital today…. I know exactly what you mean.

  11. what a dreamy traveling,

    love the ride, Happy Rally.

    πŸ˜‰

  12. I enjoyed the knocking on heaven’s door imagery, well done!
    enjoy the rally!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/12/28/souls-paradise/

  13. This is nicely written, good work!

  14. What poignancy – I particularly love:
    So many souls wander

    Searching

    Asking

    Floating in the tense air

    and that last line was a kicker. Hugs.

  15. wonderfully written, you have brought us right into the picture πŸ™‚

  16. vivid imagery….there are actually real wandering souls in hospital wards. reading this gives me goosebumps..
    happy new year!

  17. Oh, I had to read this a couple of times. Vivid and wonderfully written.

  18. wow, great mood! i never like hospitals and your work is able to bring on the chills and dread for me. the words really work. πŸ™‚

  19. You have captured the halls of nursing homes with great care. And if it is simply the walk of life where years fall away like pears from a broken necklace; that’s good, too.

  20. It created a very unusual feeling..the whole word play of yours in the poem..interesting.
    Nice work πŸ™‚
    Alcina-Breathless

  21. I could actually feel the chill of trepidation as I read this piece. Wonderful writing.

  22. Perfectly captures how it feels to be in a hospital waiting for word – any word. Well done! Here’s mine this week: http://caridwen.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/drafting-the-clock-strikes-inspiration/

  23. An emotionally hard read, but beautiful. Thank you. All the best in 2012.

  24. oh yes! some fall indeed! what a great descriptive piece – you draw us into the scene; I see those white walls… nice write! great seeing it up at poetry palace!

  25. Your words bring a hospital and its atmosphere alive in the mind

  26. the liminal state very well described.

  27. This is very interesting. I read it, and I was able to feel their pain. Great depiction.

  28. wow…i can imagine…feels like you’re talking to me! i love it tho πŸ™‚

    ~meteor-blossom-showers~
    . . .persis β™₯

  29. I feel the pain of this piece

Leave a Reply

